President Ruto Announces Radical Government Reforms and Austerity Measures

President William Ruto has initiated sweeping reforms and austerity measures in response to public demands, marking a significant overhaul in government operations. Here are the key changes announced:

  1. Dissolution of State Corporations: President Ruto dissolved 47 State corporations to reduce operational costs, integrating their functions into line ministries.
  2. Cabinet Reorganization: A planned cabinet reshuffle was hinted, with about seven Cabinet Secretaries and fifteen Principal Secretaries expected to be replaced in upcoming changes.
  3. Budgetary Cuts and Suspensions:
    • Budget allocations for the offices of the First Lady, Deputy President’s wife, and others have been eliminated.
    • Confidential budgets in various executive offices, including the President’s, have been removed.
    • Renovation budgets across the government have been slashed by 50%.
    • Purchase of new government vehicles has been suspended for 12 months, except for security agencies.
    • Non-essential travel by state and public officers has been suspended.
  4. Retirement and Funding Restrictions:
    • Public servants reaching the age of 60 will now retire immediately with no tenure extensions.
    • State officers and public servants are barred from participating in public contributions and harambees (fundraisers).
  5. Fiscal Policy Changes:
    • President Ruto proposed a budget cut of Sh177 billion and additional borrowing to protect critical services and fund development initiatives.
    • A task force chaired by Nancy Onyango and vice-chaired by Luis Franceschi will conduct a comprehensive forensic audit of public debt to ensure transparency and sustainability.

These reforms aim to enhance efficiency, transparency, and fiscal responsibility in government operations, addressing citizen welfare and public resource management.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *